Note: this post is building on the image of seeing God through stained glass and will make more sense if you read Stained Glass first.

If we have been talking as though we had direct access to the “sunlight”, it can be shocking when we become aware of how our worldview refracted that light.  My worldview is the stained glass through which I see the world outside my cathedral but also God.  Art, music, my DNA, science, experiences, friendships, parents, leaders, and increasingly news sources contribute to and sustain a worldview.  It’s important to note that it’s not the experiences themselves, but how I interpret them – or who I let interpret for me – that form the worldview.  Becoming aware that we are interpreting at all has felt like a crisis.

I’ve always had a worldview

I’ve always had a worldview – everyone does – but I haven’t always been aware of it.  One example of this occurred during the months I spent in conversation about race with my friend Reggie.  As he generously shared his experience as an African-American I realized the view from my pupils were framed entirely by the whites of my eyes.  MLKI would have said America works a certain way without acknowledging that it doesn’t work that way for all Americans.   I found myself in tears at a Martin Luther King Jr rally, seeing for the first time how my worldview had led to my conclusions, and how King’s vision for America was not just better for African-Americans, but for all Americans.

When we first travel to another country it surprises us to learn that the once-perceived universal experience, was only (in my case) an American view.  We were measuring the world in inches and feet and come to find out most of the world uses metric.  Steadfastly clinging to the way we’ve always done things, even when centimeters and kilometers make more sense.

I’ve been travelling lately

I’ve been travelling lately, at least ideologically (see Two Tribes), and wondering just who else is seeing this.  There was a time when our community of faith was a small, homogenous group, going the same direction with the same set of beliefs.  Or did I just imagine it that way?  But then my own young family was the same: two adults seeing eye to eye driving around a minivan of kids to the same destination, eating identical ham sandwiches and interpreting the world together as it passed outside those tinted van windows.  Now those kids are young adults with differing views, off to college and back carrying new ideas to integrate with the old.

I feel like a congregant gone off to college, trying to figure out “what else” father church was wrong about.

And likewise, I feel like a congregant gone off to college, trying to figure out “what else” father church was wrong about.  When we realize voices that we trusted for direction are also looking at the world through stained glass, it magnifies the shock.  Their interpretation of the world’s events and sacred texts, mixed with their experience of what has worked for them in the past, what they have thought through and already decided, all contribute to the advice they pass on to us.  If I’m honest I feel disappointed that we are not all interpreting new experiences in the same way.  Being together was better.

Going back home

But it is scary to confront those you’ve been treating with god-like status.  Even though we ourselves gave them too much power it’s still hard to take it back.  This is especially tricky with religious leaders because who God is, and who the leader has told us God is, will need separating.   This is a common point where people walk away from both, but we must push through because God is too mysterious and expansive and generous to be lost over a mere human.

Have we lost the hope of standing on common or solid ground?  No!  Only when we put too much weight on that which cannot bear it.  We can learn from our leaders if we retain a sense of thinking for ourselves.  We can grow in our community – and retain our sense of self – when we enjoy the commonality but don’t glom onto others as if every single DNA chromosome is a match.  We can grow life out of sacred scriptures that don’t pretend to be science books but whisper the story we long to hear:  where we came from and where we’re going, how loved we are and that we don’t bear the burden of being the center of it all.

The glass may be stained, but the light still shines through.

stainglassreflection2

See also Stained Glass and Stained Glass Communities. Make sure to subscribe to be notified of the next post.

MLK illustration source: http://studentengagement.kennesaw.edu/msa/MLK.php
